Dulcinea

We have a rather large snake. She is a red-tailed boa named Dulcinea. She came to us in like most of our pets, as a rescue. I walked into the pet store one day, and one of the clerks was on the phone. She pointed to me and said “YOU! You keep snakes! Do you want a boa constrictor?”

“Well,” I said, “I could only take it if it came with everything it needed. I can’t afford to buy a snake enclosure.”

The woman returned to the phone, then back to me. “Yes. It comes with everything. They’ll bring it to your house.”

Wow. Really? “Let me call my husband and see if he wants one.” I called Don. “Hey honey, do you want a boa constrictor?”

“YEAH!!!!!!” Don could not have been more thrilled.

“Okay” I told the woman, “we’ll take it.”  I gave her my address and agreed to meet the representative of Reptile Rescue at around 6pm.

So, I went home, and at 6pm on the nose, a knock came on my door. There stood a nice gentleman who appeared to be in a bit of a hurry. He said he would need help to bring in the snake, so I went down with him to his truck and we carried the glass reptile tank into the apartment. Inside was a terrified looking snake, coiled upon itself, hiding its head.

“Is it ok?” I asked.

“It’s a she. She’ll be ok once she gets used to her new surroundings,” the man said.

..more tomorrow!

Dulcinea -- I'm a Pretzel!

This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

